The Stray Cats of Homs by Eva Nour

The Stray Cats of Homs by Eva Nour

  • $24.00
    Unit price per 


He refused to abandon his home. Even under siege. Even when everyone around him was leaving. For fans of The Beekeeper of Aleppo and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

'An absolutely riveting novel and a searing and incredibly important book. Storytelling at its best.' Donal Ryan

'A cat has seven souls in Arabic. In English cats have nine lives. You probably have both nine lives and seven souls, because otherwise I don't know how you've made it this far.'

Sami's childhood is much like any other - an innocent blend of family and school, of friends and relations and pets (including stray cats and dogs, and the turtle he keeps on the roof).

But with Syria at war with itself, nothing is really normal. And Sami's hopes for a better future are about to be ripped away.

Inspired by extraordinary true events, The Stray Cats of Homs is the story of a young man who will do anything to keep the dream of home alive. It is tender, wild, raw, and truly unforgettable.